Feel the Moment

imageI cannot believe I am opening this blog with this but what the heck…this line that Christina Aguilera sings in one dance song, “I just want to feel this moment” puts my outlook nowadays in a nutshell. That is all I want right now  – to feel the moment, every moment, every experience in my life that fascinates me and gives me pleasure and fulfillment, to not be constricted by overly thinking backward or forward so much so that it ruins the present.

Oftentimes in life, we encounter moments of sheer happiness and find ourselves stressing about what we want or expect to happen next or fearing what may unfold or not unfold. And then your moment of sheer happiness becomes a moment of unnecessary stress, it becomes worrisome and before you know it, it’s gone. You just ruined it for yourself because you think of all the other things or possible situations that surrounds that moment, instead of just immersing yourself in the beautiful thing that you have in the palm of your hand and allowing it to envelop you, enjoying, savoring, feeling every bit of it. Should you have dropped all the silly thinking, then you would have prolonged your happiness and allowed it to blossom naturally maybe to an even more pleasurable and fascinating experience.

From something as simple as your hobbies or traveling, to something as serious as loving, or your life in its totality, every nerve in your body should be 100% living in and feeling the present and reaping all the enjoyment you can get from it.

Let me give you one example. A good friend of mine who, like me, is also an expat in Singapore, is totally loving being where she is right now but because she has been used to being transient, she has recurring worries about where she would end up next especially if her job does not hold in Singapore. She is not only worrying about the future here but is also being constricted by the past. Having stayed in different places in the past, she feels the need to keep moving, which actually may indirectly be fueling the worry about the stability of her job. All her worries make her forget two crucial things – that she is totally loving where she is right now and that under her nose are many opportunities that are there for her taking. If you focus on everything else but the present, you are not able to reach the highest potential of what you have at the moment. As they say, while your past does not define your future, worrying does not empty the future of its troubles but empties today of its strength.

Even when it comes to love, a lot of relationships get ruined because of the pressure put on one or both of the people involved – pressure of commitment, marriage, a lot of expectations and so many demands. Let’s say you unexpectedly find yourself falling in love with someone and you are genuinely enjoying every single moment you spend with each other, all the conversations, laughter, stupidity, simple acts of kindness, your intimate moments and even silence that just feels so comfortable – stop right there and do not think forward. Control your brain before it goes on hyperdrive and starts writing a thick manual of expectations and concerns – Where is this going? Will it work? Will I get hurt again? Will I hurt him? Let your heart take control for once and just feel that moment and enjoy it with every bit of you, with no fear, no worries, no labels, no expectations. Focus on your pleasure. Now is all that is important.

When you are 100% in the moment, unbound by everything else, you feel genuinely free, and freedom allows all things to unravel beautifully in its own natural course.

When people ask me why I enjoy yoga, I always say that because for at least an hour, I drop everything that happened to me during the day, drop any problems or any worries about the next day, the next week, the next month, the next year. For that whole hour, I think of nothing but my asanas, my breathing. I am 100% in the moment and I feel freedom, an utmost calm, sheer pleasure, unexplainable love.

So that is what I want to share with you right now. In everything you do especially the things that make you smile, always be in the present, be aware of it and feel it with every heartbeat and your entire soul. May you have freedom, peace, joy and pleasure in all you do.

Cheers! ;)

© Karen Cornejo, August 2013

118923246381000358_iqrx9g44_f

P.S. Don’t stop here! Check out my other blogs, by clicking on the All My Ramblings button. Start with Think Purpose! ;)

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen Cornejo

My name is Karen and I am a true blooded Gemini. I was born in 1981 in the uber chaotic but equally beautiful city of Manila in the Philippines. I have recently relocated to Singapore, where I have been living for over a year now. I currently work as regional sales & marketing manager for a wonderful company that promotes wellness, purpose and abundance through our very unique product – therapeutic-grade essential oils. Since my life-long dream is to get SO rich that I don’t ever need to work again and I can just live in a beautiful island and do nothing but be happy and write…then might as well start living that dream now. Well, it’s only the writing part of that dream that I can afford at the moment, thus, this blog. Better to have a piece of that big dream than nothing at all! It is also true that I started this blog “because I’m tired of talking to myself.” Writing is my ultimate stress reliever. Most of the time, what I write is what I actually want to tell myself to give myself some needed reassurance that in the end, everything will be alright. I live each day with so much passion and there is nothing more I would want than to share this passion for life with everyone else. So this blog is for you as much as it is for me. I would love to hear from you too. For comments or whatever, feel free to drop me a note at primakarenrambles@live.com or like my page on Facebook www.facebook.com/PrimaKarenRambles. Thank you for reading my ramblings You are awesome! Love, Karen

View all posts by Karen Cornejo

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Feel the Moment”

  1. Alsaetia Says:

    Hi Karen. Nice article! I should have read this last year; it would have saved me a lot of trouble (I over-think and talk to myself a lot, too ;)There’s a movie called ‘The Spectacular Now’ out this year. I haven’t seen it but the title is certainly catchy, and makes you want to think that every time is a ‘Spectacular Now.’ God bless you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

