Momma-be

February 21, 2013

All My Ramblings, Life in General, Love

mother-and-childThis is dedicated to all the mommy wannabes out there.

I must say I want to give myself a pat on the back for that cute little moniker right there. Momma-be. I love it.

Well, I have always dreamed of having kids – my very own adorable little critters that would give my life a different kind of meaning. I have always imagined myself on the hospital bed carrying my newborn child with the whole world giving me “the nod” and a huge “Congratulations Karen, you are no longer a little girl. You are now a woman and a kickass mother at that.”

But then, am I really ready for it? Actually, who am I kidding? At my age, I should have a couple already. My friends who are younger than me have settled down and have babies already, for God’s sake. But then, this friend of mine who, just like me, has always wanted to have kids of her own recently had a pregnancy scare. She has never in her life missed her period and by the second week of being delayed, and with her being almost sure that she was pregnant (though turns out she was not), her whole life slowly started to flash before her. “What the hell is the matter with you”, is what I told her, “this is what you have always wanted”. “Yeah but not as a surprise and not at the peak of my career” is all she said.

Hmm so that got me thinking. What if I were in her shoes? Wanting a child and actually being ready for one are two totally different things. I get jitters and palpitations with just the thought of having to give up so much for nine lingering months at the very least – like caffeine, or alcohol, or my precious death sticks, or dyeing my hair, or running everyday on a treadmill like a roadrunner being chased by Wile E. Coyote, or bar hopping, or club dancing till the wee hours of the morning, or surfing and getting wiped out and having to grasp for air, or having the limitless capacity to travel wherever and whenever I want – little things that add spice to my everyday life. And wait till the baby is born. All my time, efforts and earnings will now be devoted to that child. Traveling would be like a game with each grueling plane ride becoming a don’t-let-the-baby-cry-and-bug-the-whole-cabin challenge. My life will never be the same or maybe not until after a few years.

Maybe it would be worth it, though. Maybe there is an unexplainable and out-of-this-world type of fulfillment in giving birth to an actual living being. Maybe it is beyond words to explain the kind of thrill I would feel in seeing parts of me – physical features and personality – in my own child. Maybe it is the best feeling in the world to be loved by my child like I was the most important thing in the universe. And maybe, just maybe, I will enjoy every second of motherhood and each plane ride when my family travels would be a very fun and happy so-what-if-my-baby-is-crying-everybody-else-can-piss-off experience.

I guess when that time comes my priorities will just change naturally without me even noticing it. I would probably look back and realize how mundane and insignificant my jitters and worries were, once upon a time.

So back to my question…am I really ready for it? Let’s face it. People are always never fully ready for anything – never ready for marriage, never ready to have kids, never ready for a career change, never ready to take that big leap of faith…and the list goes on. Once you are there, though, arriving at that situation you were always intimidated with, there will always be that moment of realization that you were actually born ready for anything. No fear.

Cheers! ;)

© Karen Cornejo, February 2013

P.S. Don’t stop here! Check out my other blogs, by clicking on the All My Ramblings button. Start with Think Purpose! ;)

Photo courtesy of coolhdr.wordpress.com.

, , , , , , ,

About Karen Cornejo

My name is Karen and I am a true blooded Gemini. I was born in 1981 in the uber chaotic but equally beautiful city of Manila in the Philippines. I have recently relocated to Singapore, where I have been living for over a year now. I currently work as regional sales & marketing manager for a wonderful company that promotes wellness, purpose and abundance through our very unique product – therapeutic-grade essential oils. Since my life-long dream is to get SO rich that I don’t ever need to work again and I can just live in a beautiful island and do nothing but be happy and write…then might as well start living that dream now. Well, it’s only the writing part of that dream that I can afford at the moment, thus, this blog. Better to have a piece of that big dream than nothing at all! It is also true that I started this blog “because I’m tired of talking to myself.” Writing is my ultimate stress reliever. Most of the time, what I write is what I actually want to tell myself to give myself some needed reassurance that in the end, everything will be alright. I live each day with so much passion and there is nothing more I would want than to share this passion for life with everyone else. So this blog is for you as much as it is for me. I would love to hear from you too. For comments or whatever, feel free to drop me a note at primakarenrambles@live.com or like my page on Facebook www.facebook.com/PrimaKarenRambles. Thank you for reading my ramblings You are awesome! Love, Karen

View all posts by Karen Cornejo

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Momma-be”

  1. moviewriternyu Says:

    You’re ready if you think you are…

    Reply

  2. leeramtan Says:

    Something is missing… Are you planning to raise your child alone?

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So…. Have you asked yourself? | Jema's Road to the TBR Dream Marathon 2014 - September 23, 2013

    […] Tito Boy, people are always never fully ready for anything. So far, nagagawa ko namang gumising nang maaga para magtrain, nagagawa ko namang iprioritize ang […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

