The Season of Gratitude

December 24, 2012

All My Ramblings, Life in General

Gratitude-RockWoohoo it’s the day before Christmas and it means 2012 is about to end as well. Whenever I think of Christmas and year-ends I am always washed over with feelings of warmth and gratitude. I have so much to be thankful for and I want to list those things here.

#1 – I am thankful for my parents for being the awesome people that they are, for raising me and my brother with good values and respect for everyone regardless of their state in life. Thank you for not spoiling me when I was a kid and not depriving me of anything as well. Because of that, I feel a great balance – I work hard to get what I want but I also know that it is okay to be generous to the people I love. Thank you for the good values you have instilled in me, that despite the times I have gone astray when I was younger, I still knew my limits and I still knew how to look out for myself. Thank you for trusting me that I would get past that stage. Thank you for loving each other unconditionally – that even if I am surrounded by friends who come from broken families or broken relationships, because of the two of you, I see through all those and know that love can be eternal. Thank you for giving me such great education and for allowing me to make my own decisions bringing me to where I am today. There is nothing more I want now than to make you guys proud of that little, naughty girl (with a halo that matches her tail) you endured for the past 31 years of your lives. I am also thankful for my baby brother, for despite being younger (but definitely bigger) than me, is always ready to protect me from anything and everything.

#2 – I am thankful for all the people who have hurt me in the past, from my younger years to present. Thank you to the kids who have ever called me fat, to my childhood crushes who ignored me because I was not pretty enough – it is because of you that I was inspired to work out hard enough so that I feel absolutely good about myself. Thank you for past loves that did not work – each experience has helped me get to know myself better and determine my true happiness. Thank you to the meanest evil queen boss ever who made two years of my working life a living hell – thank you for your lack of support, confidence and guidance, for demotivating me like crazy and making me feel so inferior that I thought I was already developing a complex – I owe all my successes and achievements now to you because you pushed me to explore better opportunities outside the hole that I was in. I thank also the savior of a boss that immediately replaced you because he believed in me and restored my confidence, and helped me make sure I was ready to take the next big step in my career. Thank you to everyone who have broken me in the past, I have gained strength from each breaking experience. All of you are blessings from above, with a purpose greater than any devastation you have brought.

#3 – I am thankful for Bo Sanchez and the books you write. Your goodness and how you impact others in such a positive way is just truly amazing. It is because of you that I realized it is not wrong to crave and yearn for success and abundance, so long as it comes with a craving and yearning to be able to help others more as well. It is because of you that I have been committed for the last 8 years to making a difference in the lives of others – be it by helping others financially or inspiring others even in my own little way.

#4 – I am thankful for the opportunity of working and living in Singapore. It is during the past year that I have grown so much, embraced positive changes and countless opportunities. I am thankful for my boss who puts so much trust and confidence in me that has allowed me to reach my highest potential. It is an honor to work with someone with this much comfort, support and genuine partnership. I am grateful for the people in my workplace, and most especially my direct reports for the passion I share with them. I am thankful for a company such as Young Living Essential Oils with such a unique product that really lives up to its mission of spreading wellness, purpose and abundance to all. I am also thankful for the distributors of Young Living that have true passion and genuine intent to help others live better lives. All these give working a whole new meaning. I have never worked for a company that gives me this much fulfillment. To dread Sundays because the next day means another work week starts, is something I no longer comprehend.

#5 – I am thankful for the handful of good friends that I have. The unique and lasting relationships that we share have made me realize that I do not need to have more than a strong few. Thank you for that blessed moment at the airport on my way to Boracay in 2010 when I bumped into an old friend who happens to be my first ever best friend from way back in Preparatory school, and whom I lost good contact with for some years. I am happy to have crossed paths with her right there and then and we have just been mutually inseparable ever since.

#6 – I am thankful for the unusual circumstances that have led me to meet this very special Australian frog. It is with him that I share the greatest conversations and a variety of interests with and it is because of these that I never really feel the gravity of the distance that separates our continents. This frog never fails to fascinate me and has opened my eyes to an even bigger world with even greater opportunities. His love for life has helped me achieve a greater sense of work-life balance, and his presence has served as a muse for me – the happiness he has brought has inspired me to pursue my true passion, which is to write. More over, this frog came at a time when I had a very special sense of peace within me, when I felt complete as an individual and when I was the happiest. What an unusually perfect timing.

#7 – Last but not the least, I am thankful for my awesome God. Thank you for loving me and accepting me for what I am. I may not go to Church, read the Bible, pray the rosary and I may not believe in the Book of Revelations but I thank you for accepting the non-conventional but special way that I love You and serve You. Our heart to heart conversations on Monday mornings are priceless. I know it is the personal relationship I share with You that matters the most. You are my steadfast friend and You keep me grounded. Thank you for all the love and blessings You have showered my life with and thank you for helping me help others. All my successes and all my achievements will always and forever be for Your glory. Thank you for being so cool and so awesome.

All of us have so much to be thankful for. Remember all of yours, write them down and keep them handy. When you encounter any challenges or moments of sadness, pull out your gratitude list and you will see that despite whatever down time you may be stuck in at the moment, there is still so much in your life that you can feel happy about and that I can guarantee. If I could give anyone any advice, it is to choose to be happy and be grateful for everything and everyone in your life. Just the same, do not forget that you are a special person and that you can create value in the lives of others just as much as other people create value in yours. So keep creating a positive impact on other people’s lives. As Greg Louganis puts it, “Do not understimate your ability to make someone else’s life better – even if you never know it.”

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of you! All my love :)

gratitude

© Karen Cornejo, December 2012

P.S. Don’t stop here! Check out my other blogs, by clicking on the All My Ramblings button. Start with Think Purpose! ;)

, , , , , , , , ,

About Karen Cornejo

My name is Karen and I am a true blooded Gemini. I was born in 1981 in the uber chaotic but equally beautiful city of Manila in the Philippines. I have recently relocated to Singapore, where I have been living for over a year now. I currently work as regional sales & marketing manager for a wonderful company that promotes wellness, purpose and abundance through our very unique product – therapeutic-grade essential oils. Since my life-long dream is to get SO rich that I don’t ever need to work again and I can just live in a beautiful island and do nothing but be happy and write…then might as well start living that dream now. Well, it’s only the writing part of that dream that I can afford at the moment, thus, this blog. Better to have a piece of that big dream than nothing at all! It is also true that I started this blog “because I’m tired of talking to myself.” Writing is my ultimate stress reliever. Most of the time, what I write is what I actually want to tell myself to give myself some needed reassurance that in the end, everything will be alright. I live each day with so much passion and there is nothing more I would want than to share this passion for life with everyone else. So this blog is for you as much as it is for me. I would love to hear from you too. For comments or whatever, feel free to drop me a note at primakarenrambles@live.com or like my page on Facebook www.facebook.com/PrimaKarenRambles. Thank you for reading my ramblings You are awesome! Love, Karen

View all posts by Karen Cornejo

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “The Season of Gratitude”

  1. moviewriternyu Says:

    Okay, that blog post has officially put you on the Nice list. I have forwarded it to Santa Claus so that you get the proper deliveries tonight… :D

    Reply

  2. Ulrich Says:

    You have made such awesome Blogs, that kept me awake till the wee hours of the morning, the word that struck me most was MARR freakin’ AGE.. :) that made me smile and kept me reading… since this is your last entry so far, I would like to THANK YOU.. my gratitude in also awakening my passion to write, well now i have time to focus and scribble … again Thanks Ulrich

    Reply

  3. paulsalarm Says:

    Nice. I think you have to change the name of your blog na. With more than 2,000 followers, how can you still be lonely? :)

    Reply

  4. GERRY MARQUEZ Says:

    KAREN DEAR ,WE’D HAVE A BETTER PEACEFUL WORLD IF WE HAD MORE APPRECIATIVE PEOPLE LIKE YOU. AM A STROKE SURVIVOR AT AGE 42, AND AM SO VERY THANKFUL FOR YOUR INSPIRING BLOGS. JUST FEELING YOUR PRESENCE THRU YOUR WORD GIVES ME SO MUCH HOPE. GOD BLESS.

    Reply

  5. where to buy celine nano bag Says:

    I got what you mean , thankyou for putting up.Woh I am thankful to find this website through google. “Do not be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experiment.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

