Don’t Lose Yourself

August 25, 2012

All My Ramblings, Love

Okay I am sitting on my bed in this beautiful hotel room in Hong Kong and thought of nothing better to do than type a few words. I have been watching this particular friend of mine closely and I hope she won’t mind that this blog is inspired by her.

Have you ever watched people fall in love? It’s funny that no matter how strong or independent a person is, that no matter how solid that person’s hold is on his or her beliefs, dreams, 2-year, 5-year, 10-year plan or whatever, it only takes one other person to change everything. When you think you have everything in place, when you think you have your life in order, when you think you have set yourself up well for independence and that nobody-bug-me stance – well, let me just tell you that barb wires will melt and all high walls will fall down when you fall flat-on-your-face in love.

So for these people, when that happens, it can be quite scary. It’s like losing your grip on everything you have held dear and with utmost strength and confidence, losing control of your life which you have confidently set on auto-drive, going crazy when your once steady cemented path becomes split into 2 or 3 multi-colored, multi-textured roads with God knows what’s up ahead. It’s nerve-wracking because you knew how strong and detached you once were and then all of a sudden your knees feel wobbly because you feel you are walking on fluffy clouds with matching Lisa Frank-colored butterflies circling around you, and a soundtrack that is playing in the background wherever you go and at anytime of the day. It gets so scary that I know some people feel like running away from it early before they fall any deeper and save themselves from some kind of unsolicited renaissance. How could something so beautiful be equally as threatening?

Hmmm…well, I guess don’t run away from it? For all it’s worth, falling in love is pretty exciting and not everyone is blessed with that kind of frenzy. Just remind little old you to not get so intoxicated with that love absinthe so much so that you lose yourself entirely in the process. You may see a lot of couples dominated by just one person all the time with the other person only a mere shadow of the other and that is not fun at all. Do not forget who you are. Do not forget your dreams and the things you loved when you were all by yourself. Your individuality is what attracted love to come into your life in the first place so stay YOU. You don’t need to change everything. Bring everything that you are in the relationship. While adaptability and compromise are good, don’t go beyond the limits that you lose everything that was originally you entirely. It is beautiful when two people in love merge their individual completeness together to form a bigger, more vibrant aura. Create a fusion of unique views, attitudes, interests, dreams, pet peeves and you will see how much more enjoyable everything is.

Well, that was quite relieving :) Cheers!

© Karen Cornejo, August 2012

P.S. Don’t stop here! Check out my other blogs, by clicking on the Home button. Start with Think Purpose!

, , , , , , , ,

About Karen Cornejo

My name is Karen and I am a true blooded Gemini. I was born in 1981 in the uber chaotic but equally beautiful city of Manila in the Philippines. I have recently relocated to Singapore, where I have been living for over a year now. I currently work as regional sales & marketing manager for a wonderful company that promotes wellness, purpose and abundance through our very unique product – therapeutic-grade essential oils. Since my life-long dream is to get SO rich that I don’t ever need to work again and I can just live in a beautiful island and do nothing but be happy and write…then might as well start living that dream now. Well, it’s only the writing part of that dream that I can afford at the moment, thus, this blog. Better to have a piece of that big dream than nothing at all! It is also true that I started this blog “because I’m tired of talking to myself.” Writing is my ultimate stress reliever. Most of the time, what I write is what I actually want to tell myself to give myself some needed reassurance that in the end, everything will be alright. I live each day with so much passion and there is nothing more I would want than to share this passion for life with everyone else. So this blog is for you as much as it is for me. I would love to hear from you too. For comments or whatever, feel free to drop me a note at primakarenrambles@live.com or like my page on Facebook www.facebook.com/PrimaKarenRambles. Thank you for reading my ramblings You are awesome! Love, Karen

View all posts by Karen Cornejo

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Don’t Lose Yourself”

  1. Rusty Barba Says:

    Hi Karen. this is hrbeard694258@yahoo.com. I like your attitude. Im from Cebu City.Take care.

    Reply

  2. joseph Says:

    Peace and grace to you, Karen.
    He(God) is awesome indeed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

