Hope for the Best but Expect the Worst

Who on earth came up with that crap?

It’s like encouraging your kid to study well for a bright future, but then preparing him also for failure, or telling your friend to enjoy the food and then warning him that he might get poisoned, or telling yourself to trust your partner but be on guard because he will cheat anytime. It’s like telling people to enjoy life but prepare for armageddon on the side. What is that? How could you ever find peace or be at ease with this kind of philosophy?

A lot of factors – maybe our parents, society or maybe sometimes even religion has brought us up to always be ready for an impending disaster, which in turn influenced a thinking that something is always bound to go wrong. Did you ever get scared that things are just going too well for you that it couldn’t be possible and you start to brace yourself for that glitch in your perfect realm? The worst comes because you expect it to. That is all there is to it.

In anything you do, in every adventure you take on, in every decision you make, or in every new relationship you enter, just hope for and expect the best. Treat each new thing as a breath of fresh air and embrace all the possible goodness it may bring. Enjoy every moment of it and believe that things can and will only get better. You are a magnet as strong as gravity. If you emanate positive vibrations and hopeful aspirations, then good things are all that will come your way. The law of attraction is real and you should really learn to live by it. Expecting the worst will throw you off track the road to sheer happiness. It is distracting, misleading, limiting and is as stressful as ever.

Speaking of expecting the worst, I don’t think I will ever be ready for the end of the world. Life is just too beautiful to even imagine it ending in a revelation of disastrous proportions. I would like to say that there are times when I question the beliefs of my religion that the world will end a certain way but I don’t really want to touch on religion in my blog as it can be quite sensitive. So I won’t even tell you about the many times I ask myself how a God so awesome can plan for an ending so chaotic and so scary. Just the same, as much as I would want to, I won’t tell you anymore about how I would answer my own question with a reminder that the people who wrote the Bible – the Revelation included – are just mere people, imperfect as you and I, who may claim to have heard God but who may not have been honest enough to admit if they understood Him genuinely and clearly or not. These are issues too sensitive that I won’t even touch on them here. I will share with you one belief of mine though..that God, or for some the Universe, is so great that He only means INFINITE goodness and love for everyone. So in that case I would like to end this blog by saying, armageddon my a**.

Smile! :)

© Karen Cornejo, August 2012

P.S. Don’t stop here! Check out my other blogs, by clicking on the Home button. Start with Think Purpose! ;)

, , , , , ,

About Karen Cornejo

My name is Karen and I am a true blooded Gemini. I was born in 1981 in the uber chaotic but equally beautiful city of Manila in the Philippines. I have recently relocated to Singapore, where I have been living for over a year now. I currently work as regional sales & marketing manager for a wonderful company that promotes wellness, purpose and abundance through our very unique product – therapeutic-grade essential oils. Since my life-long dream is to get SO rich that I don’t ever need to work again and I can just live in a beautiful island and do nothing but be happy and write…then might as well start living that dream now. Well, it’s only the writing part of that dream that I can afford at the moment, thus, this blog. Better to have a piece of that big dream than nothing at all! It is also true that I started this blog “because I’m tired of talking to myself.” Writing is my ultimate stress reliever. Most of the time, what I write is what I actually want to tell myself to give myself some needed reassurance that in the end, everything will be alright. I live each day with so much passion and there is nothing more I would want than to share this passion for life with everyone else. So this blog is for you as much as it is for me. I would love to hear from you too. For comments or whatever, feel free to drop me a note at primakarenrambles@live.com or like my page on Facebook www.facebook.com/PrimaKarenRambles. Thank you for reading my ramblings You are awesome! Love, Karen

View all posts by Karen Cornejo

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your Indestructible Inner Peace « Prima Karen Rambles - October 21, 2012

    [...] to. I have written some blogs about positivity which you might want to go back to:  Why Worry?, Hope for the Best but Expect the Worst, The Secret is in the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

